Do You Believe the Book Cover You See?

Book covers, whether they contain photographs or illustrations, ask you to look at what you see, know it is fiction, and believe it anyway. This sounds like it makes no sense, but stay with me for a moment; hopefully my train of thought will reveal itself.

Take this cover of Arthur Golden’s Memoirs of a Geisha:

The cover is, first and foremost, designed to catch a consumer’s attention, say “Look at me!”, and get the consumer to consider purchasing it. I also think that, in asking you to look at it, the book admits to being a fiction.

Intellectually, we know that almost all book covers are staged, commissioned, posed, fake. It’s part of the publishing business and money is the goal. However, especially in this case, the cover admits to being fake. It is the cover of a fictional story, and that alone tells you that the cover cannot host a picture of the real protagonist.

In a way, though, it doesn’t matter. This isn’t a biography or autobiography. The cover isn’t asking us to believe it to be real. It is just asking us to believe.

Morris tells us that what we see in photos is affected by what we believe we’re seeing. I think, by being the cover of a fiction title, this photo is asking us to leave reality for a moment and believe, not that the person in the photo is the book’s character, but that it could be.

I don’t know if this thought process makes any sense beyond the scattered realm of my mind, but I’d love to hear what other people think of posed photographed book covers’ believe-ability. Happy reading!

This entry was written by Kel and published on February 23, 2012 at 8:28 pm. It’s filed under Book Covers, Kelly's Posts, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Do You Believe the Book Cover You See?

  1. environmental issues
    Wonderful post, very informative about environmental issues. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector do not understand this. You should proceed your writing. I am confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!|What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to contribute & aid different customers like its aided me. Good job.

Leave a Reply

