Home Is Where the Heart Is

I asked nine family members (ten including myself) to draw their own maps of my parents’ home. I provided minimal instructions to my family and simply asked them to “draw a map of Mom and Dad’s house.” I immediately received questions such as, “Do I draw the outside, too?” “How much detail do I need to have?” and “Do you want both floors?” Each time, I answered with, “Draw whatever you feel you need to include to draw a map of the house.” As a result, I received a wide range of maps, each illustrating how each family member interpreted my instructions.

These differences in interpretations are precisely what I was seeking when I provided the vague directions. In their own way, each family member unwittingly drew a narrative of their perception of the house. Turchi claims that asking someone to draw a map is to say, “Tell me a story.”  Through their drawings, my family members did just that.

Please view my atlas here on Issuu.

This entry was written by Emily and published on February 23, 2012 at 5:59 pm. It’s filed under Mapping, Semiotics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

