Love, In Other Forms

“Love, in Other Forms” is a photographic essay that displays people with their pets, most specifically, the love and companionship between the two. I used friends and strangers with their pets to get the shots that I felt appropriately displayed their feelings for one another. Although, I have to say, it’s hard getting emotion out of a Hermit Crab.

I used my iPhone 4 camera and an online tool, Picasa, to get the perfect look for each shot. Since I was working with living subjects, I wanted to be able to shoot plenty of exposures per subject, in able to find the perfect image; my iPhone provided the necessity for quick shots as well as the option to immediately view all that I had taken. All of the images include a blurred background and lighting effects to bring attention to the human and animal pictured. I didn’t want to create a stark or similar background for each image because I wanted to capture both human and animal in their natural environment, whether that happened outside on the driveway or in the house next to the front door.

Body language is a cue, it is evidence, and the body language of each individual and animal can tell a story all on its own (changingminds.org). I asked the subjects to “act like you love your pet” without any regard to creating a certain body language. When I got home, I was able to study the images to find similarities between people and  their pets.

If you want to see the Issu publication, complete with analysis, click here

This entry was written by dsantonelli and published on March 29, 2012 at 10:37 am. It’s filed under Darlene's Posts, Digital Story Telling, pe, Photo Essay, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

