TV show intros mashed up

I wanted to try and incorporate the readings this week to my weekly theme, TV Show Intros. I knew it wouldn’t be hard to find mashups of intros, but I found one that stood out compared to the others.

“More Than 15 TV Theme Songs in Less Than 2 Minutes” by the KorenEnsemble.

I’m not able to find anything that tells what all of the themes are (and I’m certainly not positive about all of them), but this video stuck out to me compared to the others. It wasn’t created by chopping up different videos and putting them together, but instead by recreating the theme songs in order to fit them together. I also liked how they did their own video to mimic the actual intros.

This made me begin to question how the copyright laws would work against this video. I do not understand music well enough to know if they have “stolen” note by note the songs from these intros, because they do sound different than the originals…but similar enough that they are easily recognizable. The difference that I see here between the Koren Ensemble and someone like Girl Talk is that they didn’t take what was already created and edit it together to create something else… they re-created it to a further extent than what Girl Talk does by just using a computer.

It also reminds me of our discussion in class about the use of intertextuality relating to such mashups. I don’t think that the Koren Ensemble was trying to make a point by creating this video, unlike the ones we watched in class concerning John Lennon and George W. Bush. Although, the content of this video is only relevant through understanding what it is comprised of. After watching the first 30 seconds, I was able to understand what the Koren Ensemble was doing in terms of the visual aspect of the video. If I had never seen shows such as The Office or Friends, I would probably be really confused about why they showed a copy machine and were hanging out in a fountain. I’m able to appreciate the video through intertextuality and my prior knowledge about what these shows are.

This entry was written by tarrmart and published on March 31, 2012 at 4:01 pm. It’s filed under Semiotics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

