Emily’s Proposal for Remix Project

I hate to admit it, but I tend to watch a fair amount of reality shows. Not because I think they’re actually “real,” or because I think the plots and concepts are intriguing. Mostly, I tune in to reality shows when I’m in the need for “mindless” television. Especially on days when I have way too much going on and I just need a break from the real world. Lately I’ve noticed that the bulk of the reality shows that end up on my TV screen are wedding shows.

Some may say it’s because I’m recently engaged, but there are so many of them, I can’t really avoid it. If you turn on TLC or WE TV, odds are you are going to find a show about weddings. Whether it is about finding the perfect dress or watching “bridezillas” prepare for their wedding, these shows all have one thing in common: the search for perfection.

I know it sounds a little cliche, but from a very young age, girls are trained to think about their perfect wedding day. Some women are so obsessed with the idea of a perfect wedding that they plan it before they are engaged… or have a boyfriend. I have seen an episode of Say Yes to the Dress in which a woman visited Kleinfeld’s to find her wedding dress before her boyfriend even proposed to her. I have also seen women on Bridezilla s break out an old scrapbook with childhood ideas for the wedding.

I think one of the major shows that highlights the importance of perfection is My Fair Wedding, in which a wedding planner, David Tutera, hijacks couples’ imperfect weddings and complete redesigns them to create the fairy tale the brides truly wanted. Most of the time, the weddings these women have planned are just fine: nice little gatherings in the back yard with close family and friends and homemade decorations. Tutera overhauls these weddings into monstrous galas, complete with live, fire-wielding entertainers.

There are a lot of directions I can go in for images and video. For example, since this is an obsession that starts from childhood, a snapshot of girls from Toddlers and Tiaras could be appropriate.

The background music can also go in different directions. Right now, I’m thinking “The Wedding March” or “Cannon in D” could transform into eerie music, depending on the images and video I choose. Of course, I’m not “wedded” to this idea, especially since these songs could end up being too slow to create tension. Still brainstorming other song ideas…

This entry was written by Emily and published on April 5, 2012 at 3:22 pm. It’s filed under Remix, rproj and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Emily’s Proposal for Remix Project

  1. Hi Emily,

    You have some good ideas in here, though the wedding stuff is, I think, only one small part of the issue. I’m going to put parts of two of your sentences together to make:

    “From a very young age, girls are trained to think about the importance of perfection.”

    This, I think, is where your topic is located. Girls are trained to think about perfection–mostly, in terms of their body image. Gendered children’s commercials, make-up ads, the rhetoric of the princess from everything from Disney. And so on.

    And, yet, we have a society where, according to an NPR story this morning about the connection between obesity and autism, “In the U.S., about one-third of women of child-bearing age are obese.” Where is the disconnect? How is it is that women are told be to perfect and so many wind up obese? What is happening out here?

    So, I think we need to broaden this topic beyond the wedding, though images of wedding perfection could certainly play a role in the video. Locating older video of girls talking about their dreams will be important, as will contemporary clips of images of perfection. Finding a good song to help propel the narrative forward is also important.

    Looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

    BW

Leave a Reply

