The last weekly blogger post (in which remix storyboards are discussed)

The other night, we spent the class discussing and critiquing our attempts at storyboards for the first 20-25 seconds of our remix video projects. I noticed that a few of us, myself included, tried to go through too much in those first 20 seconds. We were using too many different clips, drawing in too many different ideas, in just 20 seconds.

When I thought about it, I realized that, having a 20-second time frame, a clear :00 beginning and :20 ending, somehow made me work as though I were dealing with a short story. I felt like I had to use a new clip for each frame with no repeats. Moreover, I felt like I had to cover every idea for the whole video … in 20 seconds.

Yeah, after stepping back and remembering the storyboard covered 20 seconds of a three to five minute video, that was way too much for too little time. It is supposed to be a nonlinear narrative, so even though the clips do not have to fit together exactly, it still has to build some sort of arc throughout the video.

Putting a billion different clips in the storyboard was like accelerating that process, like trying to build each point of the narrative with two clips in five seconds instead of slowly building across five minutes. Ha, no wonder it felt rushed.

Well, I can’t think of much else to say, so good luck to everyone and I can’t wait to see the awesome projects you all make.

This entry was written by Kel and published on April 14, 2012 at 1:11 pm. It’s filed under Semiotics. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

